#UDtravelingscarf2017

Editor’s note: This March, scarves are connecting about 100 University of Dayton women across campus. Each woman will spend a day with the scarf before meeting  another woman and sharing the scarf with her. After this exchange, each woman will reflect on her experience with with the scarf. This post is the fifth of the series. 

scarvesI wore the scarf on Wednesday, March 8. I selected this day because I had a midterm exam in my broadcasting class that day, and I hoped the scarf would bring me some luck, make me feel special and make the whole day more exciting.

I found it interesting that the people who commented about the scarf were all men. Not one woman commented on the scarf I was wearing. My boyfriend and the Jimmy John’s delivery worker both complimented the scarf. I did not tell either of them about the origin of the scarf and what the scarf meant. I thought it was really cool to keep it to myself, in a way to protect this sisterhood of women. Of course, it did not have to be secret. I simply wanted it to be secret for fun. I enjoyed feeling like I was connected to something larger than myself. I am always a fan of women supporting one another, which was why I was excited to participate in this event.

I enjoyed meeting two new women through this process. I loved my conversations with both women on the two different scarf exchange days. The woman who had the scarf prior to me said she met a childhood friend for lunch while she wore her scarf which made her day special. I passed the scarf onward to a first-year student. I enjoyed getting to know her and hearing her thoughts on her college experience so far. I would have loved to talk to both women longer.

It was a cool experience to meet two nice UD women, and even cooler to wear the scarf on International Women’s Day, which was March 8. Once I realized that the scarf-wearing day also fell on that celebration, I felt connected to an even larger network of women. It was a beautiful scarf with great color and design, and it added spice to my life.

-Bridget Lally

Leave a Reply

