#UDtravelingscarf2017

Editor’s note: This March, scarves are connecting about 100 University of Dayton women across campus. Each woman will spend a day with the scarf before meeting  another woman and sharing the scarf with her. After this exchange, each woman will reflect on her experience with with the scarf. This post is the first of the series. 

scarves

I was eager to be able to participate in the Journey of the Traveling Scarf. I thought it would help me connect to women across campus, some I knew and some I did not. When I first received the scarf it was from someone who I did know through a mutual acquaintance, she knew the mother of a friend of mine in high school. She was also an alumna from my high school.

Then, when it was my turn to hand off the scarf to the next woman, I did not know her. However, once we were talking, I learned we had more things in common than I would have thought. We both have similar ideas and beliefs, and we both are passionate about the same issues.

In the end, I am happy I met both of these women. They are such great role models for a new freshman at UD, like myself.

One thing I was not expecting when I wore the scarf, however, was the confidence I felt. I really felt connected to so many women, and through that I felt less alone. Even walking to class by myself, I felt more comfortable because I knew I had so many women with me in spirit. The scarf pushed me out of my comfort zone that day, and I really had a great time. One of my teachers was also wearing the same scarf that day and we were excited to see each other in it.

This was such a wonderful experience to have had, and I am so grateful. I know it will be something I remember for a long time and I hope others have their own moving experience with the scarf.

-Jennifer Conard

 

Leave a Reply

