#UDtravelingscarf

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Scarf was a wonderful experience. Being an international student, it is always comforting to feel a sense of community and connectedness. I felt very much a part of this journey, and it allowed me to feel connected to all of the wonderful women who wore this scarf. As women, we must lift each other up and celebrate our differences and similarities. It was interesting to be a part of this activity. I wear a scarf everyday as my hijab, getting to be a part of celebrating the scarf as a uniting tool was very important to me.

The best part of the traveling scarf experience was getting to communicate and meet the women with whom I exchanged the scarf. Meeting new people and learning their story and background was a great experience for me. I love getting to meet new people and spending time with these women was a blessing.  I learned a lot about the strength of women as individuals—and especially collectively.

Editor’s note: Eight scarves are connecting 87 University of Dayton women. Each woman will spend a day with the scarf before meeting  another woman and sharing the scarf with her. After this exchange, each woman will reflect on her experience during her time with the scarf. This post is the tenth in a series. 

Leave a Reply

