#UDtravelingscarf

As soon as I heard about this experience, I thought right back to my years of being obsessed with the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants books and movies.  Although I was excited to take part on this journey, I was nervous to meet up with two new faces. At the University of Dayton, we strive for community and inclusiveness, so why was I nervous to meet two women who had the courage to take this journey? Could there be any chance that I wouldn’t be accepted or greeted without a smile? When the day came for me to pick up the scarf, I decided it was time for me to step out of my shell. It can be so easy to fall into a pattern of friends and think the story has to end there. I am happy to say that I don’t look at sisterhood that way, and I no longer fear not being accepted.

Both of the women I met through this experience were amazing. We took the time to sit down together and have a cup of coffee while we shared stories. It was amazing that I had so much in common with these women. I am thrilled that my journey won’t end here. I have more years left at Dayton, and I want to use them to continue to connect with people on campus. The word “community” only goes as far as you allow it. For me, I want it to go far.

Editor’s note: Eight scarves are connecting 87 University of Dayton women. Each woman will spend a day with the scarf before meeting  another woman and sharing the scarf with her. After this exchange, each woman will reflect on her experience during her time with the scarf. This post is the second in a series. 

Leave a Reply

